zum Directory-modus

Radical Substitution Reactions

Radical Substitution Reactions

Radical substitution reactions are fundamentally different from polar substitutions, such as electrophilic and nucleophilic substitution reactions.

Reaction types at carbon atoms.

Comparison between an electrophilic (red), a nucleophilic (blue), and a radical (green) attack.

Radicals attack the periphery of molecules - usually the hydrogen atom of a C-H bond. In contrast, the active agents in polar substitution reactions attack electrophilic or nucleophilic positions, respectively, in the molecule. The radical chlorination of methane is a good example of radical substitution reactions and is illustrated below. The differences between the chlorination of methane and longer-chain alkanes, as well as other halogenations (fluorine, bromine, iodine) are discussed.

Radical chlorination of methane

When methane and chlorine gas are mixed at room temperature in the dark, no reaction takes place. However, if this mixture is heated to about 300 °C or irradiated with ultraviolet light, the result is a vigorous reaction, which yields a product mixture of chlorinated C1 compounds and hydrogen chloride.

Radical chlorination of methane.

The product composition of the reaction depends on the amount of chlorine gas that was applied and the amount of time for which the energy acted. By determining the product composition as function of time, it may be proven that monochloromethane (CH3Cl) is first formed, as is also expected. If the reaction time is long enough and a sufficient amount of chlorine is applied, methane is completely converted into carbon tetrachloride (CCl4). Dichloromethane (CH2Cl2) and chloroform (CHCl3) are intermediate products of this reaction. In order to get a better understanding of the course and the results of the reaction, let us first take a look at the enthalpies of formation and the dissociation energies of the starting products and products that are involved.

The reaction enthalpy ΔH0 can be calculated using the enthalpies of formation ΔH0f of the starting products and the products, which are shown in the illustration under the respective compounds. As a result, the reaction enthalpy of the formation of monochloromethane and hydrogen chloride from methane and chlorine is -99.4 kJ/mol. That is, the reaction is very exothermic.

Enthalpies of formation and dissociation energies in the chlorination of methane.

Approximately the same result is obtained when the reaction enthalpy is calculated using the dissociation energies ΔHDiss of the bonds involved in the reaction, namely -104.5 kJ/mol.

Though the reaction is very exothermic, at room temperature it virtually never occurs. Obviously, the activation energy EA of the reaction is particularly high, as the reaction rate is controlled by the activation energy and not by the reaction enthalpy. The reaction mechanism of the chlorination of methane is further explained below.

Exercise: Radical substitution reactions

<Page 1 of 2

zum Directory-modus

Radikalische Substitution

Radikalische Substitution

Radikalische Substitutionsreaktionen unterscheiden sich grundlegend von Substitutionen polaren Charakters, wie die elektrophilen und nucleophilen Substitutionsreaktionen.

Abb.1
Reaktionen an C-Atomen

Vergleich zwischen elektrophilem (rot), nukleophilem (blau) und radikalischem Angriff (violett)

Radikale attackieren die Peripherie eines Moleküls; in den meisten Fällen die Wasserstoff-Atome einer C-H-Bindung. Im Gegensatz dazu greifen bei den polaren Substitutionen die Teilchen eine elektrophile bzw. nucleophile Position im Molekül an. Im Folgenden wird die radikalische Substitutionsreaktion am Beispiel der Chlorierung von Methan betrachtet und untersucht, was sich ändert, wenn höhere Alkane chloriert oder Methan mit anderen Halogenen (Fluor, Brom, Iod) radikalisch substituiert wird.

Radikalische Chlorierung von Methan

Gibt man Methan und Chlorgas im Dunkeln bei Raumtemperatur zusammen, so beobachtet man keine Reaktion. Wird dieses Gemisch jedoch auf 300 °C erwärmt oder mit ultraviolettem Licht bestrahlt, so tritt eine heftige Reaktion ein, und es wird als Produkt ein Gemisch aus chlorierten C1-Verbindungen und Chlorwasserstoff erhalten.

CH4+ Cl2 hv oder Δ CH3Cl+ CH2Cl2+ CHCl3+ CCl4+ HCl

Das Produktverhältnis der Reaktion hängt von der zugesetzten Chlormenge und von der Dauer der Energieeinwirkung ab. Bestimmt man das Produktverhältnis als Funktion der Zeit, zeigt sich, dass Chlormethan (CH3Cl) natürlich als erstes entsteht. Nach einer langen Reaktionszeit und bei überschüssiger Chlormenge dagegen wird alles Methan zu Tetrachlorkohlenstoff (CCl4) umgesetzt. Chlormethan (CH3Cl), Dichlormethan (CH2Cl2)) und Chloroform (CHCl3) sind intermediäre Zwischenprodukte. Für das Verständnis der Reaktion ist es hilfreich, eine genauere Energiebetrachtung vorzunehmen. Das kann über die Reaktionsenthalpie und durch einen Vergleich der Dissoziationsenergien der zu brechenden und neu zu bildenden Bindungen erfolgen.

Die Bildungswärmen ΔH° der Edukte und Produkte, die aus Tabellenwerken entnommen werden können, sind jeweils unter den einzelnen Verbindungen in der Graphik angegeben. Aus ihnen errechnet sich die Reaktionswärme zu -99,4 kJmol-1 . Die Reaktion ist also stark exotherm.

Tab.1
Energetische Betrachtung der Chlorierung von Methan
Abb.2
Abb.3

Zu dem gleichen Ergebnis kommt man auch, wenn man die Dissoziationsenergien ΔH Diss der beteiligten Bindungen betrachtet. Der errechnete Wert von -104,5 kJmol-1 ist in guter Übereinstimmung mit der Berechnung der Reaktionsenthalpie aus den Bildungswärmen.

Die Exothermie der Reaktion bedeutet aber nicht notwendigerweise, dass die Reaktion z.B. bei Raumtemperatur mit messbarer Geschwindigkeit abläuft. Die Geschwindigkeit einer Reaktion hängt ausschließlich von ihrer Aktivierungsenergie Ea ab, die in diesem Fall offensichtlich groß sein muss. Um nun den Verlauf der Reaktion zu verstehen, muss man den Reaktionsmechanismus der Chlorierung von Methan analysieren.

Film zur Chlorierung von Methan

Abb.
Darstellung von Chlormethan

Übung: Radikalische Substitution

<Seite 1 von 2