zum Directory-modus


Subject - Organic Chemistry

In addition to diamond and graphite, fullerenes are another allotrope of carbon. In 1985, chemists Robert F. Curl (USA), Harold W. Kroto (GB) and Richard E. Smalley (USA) discovered the formation of fullerene C60 by heating and evaporating graphite with a laser. In 1996, they were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their discovery.

Structure of C60 fullerene

Fullerenes are hollow spheres which consist of pentagonal and hexagonal rings. The name was a homage to the American architect Richard Buckminster Fuller whose geodesic domes they resemble. Stable fullerenes always contain 12 five-membered rings which are surrounded on all sides by six-membered rings. The C60 modification with 12 five- and 20 six-membered rings meets these criteria as the smallest representative. The next stable member of the fullerenes, C70, differs from C60 by five additional C2 building blocks giving the molecule a lengthy look.

Only in 1990, research groups of W. Krätschmer in Germany and D.R. Huffman in USA developed a process for the preparation of larger amounts of fullerenes. Practical or technical applications of fullerenes do not exist. Nanotubes in which the carbon atoms are aligned in six-membered rings are modifications of fullerenes. A large number of applications has been developed or is being discussed for nanotubes. These include hydrogen storage, flat screens, composite materials, catalysts, membranes, and quantum wires.

See also: diamond , graphite , carbon

zum Directory-modus

FullereneZoomA-Z

Fachgebiet - Organische Chemie

Die Fullerene sind - neben Diamant und Graphit - eine der Modifikationen des Kohlenstoffs. Im Jahr 1985 registrierten die Chemiker Robert F. Curl (USA), Harold W. Kroto (GB) und Richard E. Smalley (USA) die Entstehung des Fullerens C60, als sie Graphit mithilfe eines Lasers erhitzten und verdampften. Sie wurden 1996 mit dem Nobelpreis für Chemie ausgezeichnet.

Mouse
Abb.1
Struktur eines C60-Fullerens

Fullerene bestehen aus geschlossenen Käfig-Molekülen, die ihrerseits aus Fünf- und Sechsringen bestehen. Der Name Fullerene wurde durch die Ähnlichkeit zu den geodätischen Kuppelbauten des amerikanischen Architekten Richard Buckminster Fuller geprägt. Stabile Fullerene enthalten stets 12 Fünfringe, die allseitig von Sechsringen umgeben sind. Die C60-Modifikation erfüllt mit 12 Fünf- und 20 Sechsringen diese Kriterien als kleinster Vertreter. Der nächste stabile Vertreter der Fullerene, C70, unterscheidet sich von C60 durch fünf zusätzliche C2-Bausteine, die dem Molekül eine längliche Gestalt verleihen.

Erst 1990 fanden Arbeitsgruppen um W. Krätschmer in Deutschland und um D.R. Huffman in den USA ein Verfahren zur Herstellung von Fullerenen in größeren Mengen. Kommerzielle praktische oder technische Anwendungen für Fullerene gibt es noch nicht. Von den Fullerenen abgeleitet werden Nanoröhren, in denen die Kohlenstoff-Atome ebenfalls in Form von Sechsecken angeordnet sind. Für diese Nanoröhren wird derzeit eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen diskutiert, von der Wasserstoff-Speicherung über Flachbildschirme, Verbundwerkstoffe, Katalysatoren und Membranen bis hin zu Quantendrähten.

Siehe auch: Diamant , Graphit , Kohlenstoff